Tel: +359 58 603 256
Fax: +359 58 603 256

iovkovYordan Yovkov Museum
The historical museum offers tourists a walk around the historical heritage of Dobrudzha - the crossroads of civilizations, where cultures from a number of regions in Southeast Europe meet. The museum boasts some 163,000 exhibits.
The historical museum of Dobrich was founded in 1953 as an institution for science, culture and education. It has collected, studied, stored and exhibited artifacts and nature samples from all over South Dobrudzha. It publishes a number of scientific and popular science books (among which the year-book Dobrudzha), and organizes international, national, and regional science forums. In 1968, the organization started Yordan Yovkov fund, which, twelve years later, was transformed into the today's specialized museum of art, drama, and ballet Home of Yordan Yovkov.



Exhibitions of the historical museum:

Archaeology of Dobrudzha
Old Dobrich Complex
No. 18, Konstantin Stoilov Street

Urban and Rural Life at the End of XIX and the Beginning of XX
Ethnographic House
No. 5, Alen Mak Street

Old Dobrich Outdoor Museum of Architecture and Ethnography
No. 18, Konstantin Stoilov Street

Icons from Dobrudzha
Art Gallery
No. 14, Bulgaria Street

The ‘Dobrudzha Question'
Modern and Contemporary Weapons
Museum of Modern and Contemporary History
3rd March Street

The House of Yordan Yovkov Museum
No. 18, Major Vekilski Street

Yordan Yovkov Museum
No. 4, General Gurko Street

The House of Adriana Budevska
No. 56, Vasil Levski Street

War Cemetery Memorial
No. 53, 25th September blvd.


 Ethnographic House

The museum is one of the most interesting houses dating back to the Bulgarian National Revival. It was built in 1860 - 61, and was restored in 1970. The house has been registered as a monument of culture and architecture. Its rooms house the exhibition Customs and Finary from Dobrudzha. The collection contains costumes and textiles which are masterpieces of arts and crafts.  





Експонат от Етнографска къща             
Експонат от Етнографска къща

The Hall of the Icons (in the Art Gallery)

It displays icons, pieces of our national heritage, which prove the high artistic standards and the talent of the Bulgarian icon-painters.

 The Hall of the Icons


Saint George Church

The church was opened in 1843, burnt down in the Crimean War (1853 - 1856), and then rebuilt in 1868. It boasts a richly ornamented iconostas. Many of the icons were painted by Kozma Blazhetov of Debar.



The House of Yordan Yovkov and Yordan Yovkov Museum



They commemorate the classic of Bulgarian literature, the great writer and humanist, the master of the short story genre - Yordan Yovkov. Some of his works have been translated in 40 languages and included in anthologies of world literature.

The museum houses a remarkable piece of art - the ceramic collection The World of Yovkov's Personages by artist Stoimen Stoilov.

On the 30th anniversary of the Union of Bulgarian Architects, the building of the museum was awarded the highest architectural design prize Archscar (architects A. Stoyanov, P. Ganchev, A. Koev, G. Mihaylov).



Old Dobrich Outdoor Museum of Architecture and Ethnography

Tel. ++359 58 290 68, 284 29

The museum shows the architecture, customs, and crafts of Dobrich at the end of XIX and the beginning of XX AD. Its purpose is to preserve and develop the cultural and occupational traditions in the region.
The visitors will find out about the production processes of traditional arts and crafts - tailoring, knitting, wood turnery, goldsmith's trade, etc. There is a bakery, a millet-ale (or boza) shop, and an old style café. Visitors can try their hand at pottery, visit the café and taste the famous byalo sladko, boza, and Bulgarian wine.




The Nature of Dobrudzha Museum
Tel.: 058/ 603 256, e-mail:

The museum, located in St. George Town Park, has been in operation since 28th December 2005. The exhibition was founded with the financial support of the National Centre for Museums, Galleries and Art of the then Ministry of Culture and Tourism.
Visitors can see the diorama cycles Water Caves (the last habitats of the monk seals), Wetlands (the areas next to water basins), Bustard, or Otis tarda (the most common bird species until the 1970s, which is now extinct and can only be spotted along the migration routes), the steppe (the most common biotope in Dobrudzha in the past), the longose (a type of forest with peculiar water cycle, now existing only near the mouth of the Batovska River), Agrocenosis (follows the changes in the biodiversity in Dobrudzha as a result of human activities; the adaptation of wildlife in the modern day agricultural regions), Forest (the deciduous forests and their impact on the climate and biodiversity), the Suha Reka Canyon (natural habitat for a variety of plant and animal species in an agricultural area). The exhibition not only educates visitors - it also entertains them and kindles their imagination.

Art Gallery

Evelina Handzhieva - Director
No. 14, Bulgaria Street
Dobrich 9300
Tel: +359 58 602 215; 602 091


Художествена галерия ДобричThe art gallery of Dobrich is over 35 years old and has the status of a city art museum. It features over 3,000 works of art - paintings, sculptures, black and white drawings, figurines and works of plastic arts by artists of various generations.
The works are exhibited in one of the stateliest buildings - a monument of architecture built in the 1930s. The art gallery boasts masters such as Mrkviska, Vladimir Dimitrov - Maystora (Vladimir ‘the Master' Dimitrov), Zlatyu Boyadzhiev, Bencho Obreshkov, Alexander Petrov, Vasil Zahariev, Pencho Balkanski, Dechko Uzunov, etc. A number of traveling exhibitions from France, Spain, Poland, Slovakia, Cuba, etc. have been displayed here. The art gallery is a venue for concerts, video presentations, recitations and meetings. Visitors to Dobrich take particular interest in the resident exhibitions ‘Old masters' and ‘Modern artists'. The art gallery organizes the international plein air ‘Paper', and has published the catalogues of the exhibitions held from 1996 to 2003. A catalogue of the gallery is also available.